Burlington High School

Burlington wins Whitewater Invitational behind 5 champions

Burlington’s Dane Loppnow was one of five Demons wrestlers who took first place at the Whitewater Invitational.

The Burlington High School wrestling team didn’t only have five individual champions at the Saturday, Dec. 10 Whitewater Invitational.

The Demons won the Invitational itself, accounting for 293.5 total points, in the 12-team meet.

Earning individual titles for the Demons include Evan Gill (106 pounds), Landon Jacobs (113), Ben Guerra (126), Dane Loppnow (195) and Grant Otter (220).

Gill, the Demons lone winner from the Gunslinger Invitational at Slinger High School a week earlier, won his first three matches by pinfall during the Whitewater Invitational before defeating Gavin Marabell from Riverdale on a 9-4 decision.

He defeated Erion Neeley, of Janesville Craig, in 36 seconds followed by a victory over Whitewater’s Jasen Porras at 2:17 before winning in 3:41 to Shoreland Lutheran’s Sergio Velasquez.

Meanwhile, as for Jacobs, he captured the title after sending Janesville Craig’s Isaiah Gibbs to the mat in 2:39.

Jacobs opened with a pin falls over Waupun’s Winton Glewen (0:33), Gibbs (3:39) before defeating Shoreland Lutheran’s Sawyer Jahns on a technical fall (16-1, 2:42). He advanced to the title match after winning on a medical forfeit to Waupun’s Miles Sheridan.

Guerra, meanwhile, opened with a first round bye before defeating Kenosha Bradford’s Ethan Veinot on a pinfall (0.58) followed by a victory over Lucas Bresser from Waupun on a technical fall (17-2, 2:04.

Guerra then defeated Whitewater’s CJ Tomomitsi, of Whitewater, in 2:46 before capturing the title with an 8-1 decision over Beloit Memorial’s Owen West.

Loppnow, at 195, defeated Dante Albrecht from Janesville Craig on a 16-3 major decision in the first round before pinning both Jack Rathfelder, of Verona, in 1:10, and Waupun’s Caleb Christian in 1:00.

In the championship bracket, Loppnow edged Riverdale’s Drayton Deglow, 5-1, before winning the title bout against Janesville Craig’s Dante Albrecht (8-1).

As for Otter, he cruised to a victory at 220, winning all three of his contested matches on pins in under two minutes.

Otter, who received an opening round bye, pinned Janesville Craig’s Nick Gregg (1:29), James Bratz from Shoreland Lutheran (0:34), and advanced to the title match with a forfeit win against Beloit Turner’s Kyle Larson.

In the title bout, meanwhile, Otter worked quickly against Garret Glewen, sending the Waupun wrestler to the mat in 1:00.

The Demons also received second place finishes from Patrick Skrundz (120), Mason Perez (145), Kade Boyd (152), Austin Skrundz (160) and Lee Gauger (182).

Comments are closed.